#chemical archipelago

This is an installation that is growing out of the other end of You’re Oak  (rather than using natural phenomena and processes as directly as possible like oak it is the representation of these processes through man-made materials). It is an exploration into the part of my practice that revolves around the idea of representing natural phenomena and processes through already existing objects. This began with using cocktail umbrellas to represent christmas tree worms  but is evolving into an imaginary chemical archipelago yet to exist. The objects I am using that may exist on these islands are all highly personal and often from my childhood, cocktail umbrellas and polystyrene planes. The cocktail umbrellas are inhabiting an alternative coral reef, in this case my mum’s old school desk, an object that has been part of my world for a long time. The spherical magnets are representing an eel garden. The paintings are purposely ambiguous, they are aerial views of this memory archipelago but they could also be individual cells, possibly cells from the crown of a cocktail umbrella or the wing of a plane, or memory cells. Unless you are in front of the natural phenomena it doesn’t exist, it exists in your memory, your experience…I cannot show you an eel garden or a coral reef (unless I took you diving), nor can you experience my childhood…I can only represent it This installation is a world made up of the imaginary, memories and real artifacts. As you look at it, it exists, if you tried to find it you probably wouldn’t be able to. You sit at the desk, you explore your own chemical archipelago.

arch_winp_1

work in progress; initially I wanted to present several projects at once however I don’t think it works…all my projects are interlinked however they fall under various branches and maybe shouldn’t be on the same wall?

chemical_archipelago_winp

chemical archipelago – work in progress 09.05.15

childhood_1

These planes were a massive part of my childhood, the prospect of having my own box of them would have been beyond comprehension. They will be part of a chemical murmuration in this installation

eel gardens are absolutely magic if you get a chance to see them. On the chemical archipelago a small colony were found, they appear to be made of spherical magnets and tiny pink rubber bands

eel gardens are absolutely magic if you get a chance to see them. On the chemical archipelago a small colony were found, they appear to be made of spherical magnets and tiny pink rubber bands

gold_soldier plane_neon_1

Untitled_Panorama12

Untitled_Panorama1

Untitled_Panorama1

Below are a series of unedited images found on a 35mm film canister on one of the smaller islands in the archipelago, they may be from somewhere else, somewhere you’ve been, somewhere I’ve been, somewhere you may go, somewhere I may go, something that exists but, right now, I can’t prove it.

