#workshop recombination

workshop_combined

an experiment in combining some of the results of workshops; a recombination of work, the interconnection made visible

password: holmes

This is a digital recombination created in the present out of various images that bear a significance on my past over the last few years. The rotating doughnut is made up of the workshop recombination image and hints at one theory that the universe could be torus-shaped…one of the ideas being that if you walked long enough in one direction through space you’d end up back where you started. By layering images from my past and present with the doughnut spinning through them my idea is that they all exist at the same time in my mind; a representation of everything existing at once. A walk through a fragment of my actual experienced part of space. This is very much an idea that hasn’t become clear yet and I can’t explain it succinctly. Below are the separate images at full opacity:

skipper_and_holmes

skipper and holmes, circa late 90s

heavily filtered photograph I took in the jungle in Malawi moments after I was left for dead after an attack on new year's eve 2011

heavily filtered photograph I took in the jungle in Malawi moments after I was left for dead after an attack on new year’s eve 2011

workshop_combination_doughnut
workshop recombination doughnut
christmas_day_3_web

the arennig, christmas day 2013

password: gelli

This is a continuation potentially called torus forest home for now, its the same images as above with the addition of the forest behind my mum’s gaff, a little bit of space that has absorbed a lot of the aftermath of various parts of my past, good and bad..potentially a suitable background and one that has been consistent. The changes in tone a nod at a sequential narrative through time, kind of cancelled out by the doughnut that spins through all of them relentlessly.

